7 Jul 2022
Walker Park was opened in 1891 on land leased to Walker Board by Newcastle Corporation. The park was built for the large and growing community which developed alongside a colossal expanding industrial area. Facilities in the park included a promenade, bowling greens and pavilion, a lake, tennis courts, meandering walks through woodland overlooking the picturesque Walker Dene and Christ’s Church beyond. The park was enclosed by a band of trees and shrubs planted along the boundary. In 1901 a statue commemorating Rabbie Burns was erected by the local Burns Club supported by the numerous ship builders who moved to Walker from Clydesdale. By the 1940s the layout had been altered with a new bandstand, additional tree and shrub planting and the relocation of the tennis courts. Following a design competition in 1988 parts of the park were renewed with a new entrance at the south west corner, a new play area, paths, shrub beds, an amphitheatre, five aside area, grassed dry lake, bowling pavilion, lighting and seating areas. Despite the changes to the layout the original boundary, some compartments, the majority of the original path routes and many trees have survived.
Have we missed something, made a mistake, or have something to add? Contact us
Historic Environment Records
Durham/Northumberland: Keys to the Past
Tyne and Wear: Sitelines
HER information as described above is reproduced under the basis the resource is free of charge for education use. It is not altered unless there are grammatical errors.
Historic Maps provided by