14 Apr 2022
23 Jul 2023
William Walker (1860s)
Description (or HER record listing)
NEHL - Hedley Colliery was situated around a mile west of Hedley-on-the-Hill, and was linked by a road directly from New Ridley. Little is known on the pit apart from that it was owned by William Walker, and that coal was sold locally rather than exported to the wider country.
Advertisements for positions at the mine, namely "good hewers", carried on into the 20th century. A flurry was seen in 1906, though references dry up afterwards. Therefore it can be determined the pit closed soon after.
The pit had a very small internal tramway system between the shaft and what is likely the heap. They will have transported the tubs from inside the drift to the waste. There was also a second shaft located around 200m north east, which had its own tramway leaving the shaft.
The pit heaps are still in situ today.
Ordnance Survey, 1896
Site of Hedley Colliery against the stunning backdrop of the Tyne Valley, 2023
Have we missed something, made a mistake, or have something to add? Contact us
One of the waste heaps still in situ at Hedley
Historic Environment Records
Durham/Northumberland: Keys to the Past
Tyne and Wear: Sitelines
HER information as described above is reproduced under the basis the resource is free of charge for education use. It is not altered unless there are grammatical errors.
Historic Maps provided by